Dexter in itself started out as a novel written by author Jeff Lindsay called Darkly Dreaming Dexter. A TV series shortly followed, thus popularizing DEXTER as a whole for the media to enjoy (becoming America’s favorite serial killer).

As both a book series and a television series, the show having premiered its eighth and final season, the book series ongoing with no end in sight. There are major plot differences between the two, specifically character’s lives, roles and even entire story lines. Dexter as a book series has been released in seven novels, with the showtime series having been released in eight full seasons.